White House announces recipients of Presidential Medal of Freedom

President Donald Trump announced the official list of the Presidential Medal of Freedom winners on Saturday.

Among the top recipients are Elvis Presley and the late Justice Antonin Scalia.

Presidential Medal of Freedom

Along with the Congressional Gold Medal, the Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian award in the U.S.

The award was first established by former President John F. Kennedy in 1963.

It was meant to take the place of the Medal of Freedom, which had been established in 1945 and was last awarded in 1961.

It is awarded for “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

While it is an award issued by the U.S., it is not limited to just U.S. citizens as recipients.

And, while also a civilian award, military personnel are eligible.

The Recipients

This year’s list has some very notable names in sports, politics, and entertainment, including Justice Antonin Scalia, Babe Ruth, Elvis Presley, Roger Staubach, Alan Page, and Sen. Orrin Hatch.

Miriam Adelson also made the cut.

While not well-known, in the White House press release, Adelson was characterized as a “committed doctor, philanthropist, and humanitarian.”

She also established the Adelson Medical Research Foundation, which  “supports research to prevent, reduce, or eliminate disabling and life-threatening illness.”

[show_poll poll_id=5740]

This award was well-deserved by all recipients.

Trump definitely picked correctly.

Latest News