Texas files Supreme Court lawsuit against four other states over election irregularities

Democrats and the media have mockingly dismissed the legal challenges to the 2020 election results by President Donald Trump and his allies, but that laughter may cease rather abruptly.

Now sitting at the doorstep of the Supreme Court is a comprehensive lawsuit filed by Texas against four other states — Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin — alleging that the election rules in those states had been changed unconstitutionally so as to cast doubt on the integrity of the entire election nationwide, The Washington Times reported.

Changes were unconstitutional

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton filed a motion to block the four states — which Democratic nominee Joe Biden ostensibly won — from sending their Democratic electors to the Electoral College and to instead have the respective state legislatures choose the electors themselves, as per the Constitution.

Paxton argued that the irregularities in those states “cumulatively preclude knowing who legitimately won the 2020 election and threaten to cloud all future elections.” His motion added, “Taken together, these flaws affect an outcome-determinative number of popular votes in a group of States that cast outcome-determinative numbers of electoral votes.”

At the heart of Paxton’s complaint is an apparent violation of the Electors Clause of the Constitution that grants the sole power to make or change election processes and procedures to the state legislatures and not by way of court orders or executive branch official decrees, as was the case in those four states in the 2020 election.

In essence, those four states violated the Constitution and the pact between all 50 states by playing fast and loose with arbitrary and unconstitutional changes to election rules months, weeks, and days leading up to the election.

“Dark shadow of doubt”

“Trust in the integrity of our election processes is sacrosanct and binds our citizenry and the States in this Union together,” Paxton said in a statement announcing the lawsuit. “Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin destroyed that trust and compromised the security and integrity of the 2020 election.”

“The states violated statutes enacted by their duly elected legislatures, thereby violating the Constitution,” he continued. “By ignoring both state and federal law, these states have not only tainted the integrity of their own citizens’ vote, but of Texas and every other state that held lawful elections.”

“Their failure to abide by the rule of law casts a dark shadow of doubt over the outcome of the entire election. We now ask that the Supreme Court step in to correct this egregious error,” the Texas attorney general added.

Other states join

At least 17 other states — all of which Trump won and have Republican attorney generals — have since joined Texas’ lawsuit against the four other states, the New York Post.

As of Wednesday, those states included Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and West Virginia.

Also appearing to join the Texas lawsuit is President Trump himself, who tweeted Wednesday, “We will be INTERVENING in the Texas (plus many other states) case. This is the big one. Our Country needs a victory!”

Share on facebook
Share to Facebook

Latest News