Poll: Netanyahu in line to form new government for Israel

This story was originally published by the WND News Center.

Benjamin Netanyahu, who already has served multiple terms as Israel’s prime minister, is in line to be able to form a new government for America’s staunchest Middle East ally, according to a new poll.

It is Foreign Desk News that is reporting just days before Israelis go to the polls to pick their party, a survey from Maariv newspaper and Walla website documented that Netanyahu could put together a 61-seat majority in the nation’s legislative body.

“The poll … shows that Netanyahu can form a parliamentary coalition with his own Likud party, the far-right Religious Zionism, and the two ultra-Orthodox parties Shas and United Torah Judaism,” the report said.

It reported a group led by Prime Minister Yair Lapid would get only 55 seats.

Other political factions would get a dozen or fewer seats.

The report noted that Maariv’s results are “considered an outlier, as other polls have shown” the politics are deadlocked.

Israel is facing its fifth election in less than four years on Nov. 1.

WND reported just months ago the Israeli government was unable to hold together.

At that time, Israel National News revealed the Knesset, the governing parliament, would be dissolved and new elections held.

The government, then run by PM Naftali Bennett, disintegrated.

Netanyahu repeatedly has expressed confidence that he would return to power there.

At that time, he said, “I meet a lot of citizens who are full of hope, who are hoping and believing that we’ll bring the Israeli government back on the right track, the secure track, the track that will promise security and attainment for all of Israel’s citizens. This is a Mimouna of faith and hope, and we’re coming back soon.”

Bennett became prime minister last year, ending Netanyahu’s record 12 years in office.

Netanyahu held several ambassadorships before being elected to the Knesset in 1988. He became prime minister first in 1996, serving until 1999, then took office again in 2009, lasting until 2021.

Latest News