Flashback: Federal judge blocks Biden order against new oil and gas leases on federal land

President Joe Biden suffered a major legal defeat back in November — and not enough people are talking about it.

Breitbart reported at the time that a federal judge had temporarily blocked an executive order from Biden that banned new leases of federal land for oil and gas drilling.

The backstory

The order, signed by Biden soon after he took office, came alongside another move by Biden to shut down the Keystone XL pipeline. Both were part of an effort by Biden to combat climate change.

The results of these policies have been felt by every American. Energy prices have soared, with Americans seeing prices well beyond where they were just a few years ago.

Biden’s response has been to go to foreign producers to beg them for more oil, and it hasn’t worked. Biden also released resources from America’s Petroleum Reserve, but it was only expected to be a stopgap measure. Meanwhile, he’s refused to budge on new leases on federal land.

The executive order was quickly challenged in court by Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry (R), who was later joined by at least a dozen other states, according to Breitbart.

And in November, they got their first legal victory.

The latest

As part of the lawsuit, Landry asked the court to grant an injunction that would stop Biden’s executive order from remaining in effect while litigation continues.

A federal judge granted it roughly six weeks ago.

“This is a victory not only for the rule of law, but also for the thousands of workers who produce affordable energy for Americans,” Landry said after the ruling, according to Breitbart. “The President’s Executive Order abandons middle-class jobs, cripples our economy, and hits everyday Americans where it hurts the most — their pocketbooks,” he added.

Landry also said Biden’s order “attacks Louisiana’s coast by reducing the revenue and royalties used for coastal restoration and hurricane protection.”

Breitbart reported in November:

In addition to Louisiana, the following states joined in the lawsuit filed on Wednesday in the United States District Court for the Western District of Louisiana: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and West Virginia.

Latest News